Updated Arrival Tree

I was wrong.  I don’t have 13 boat-riding French immigrants in my family tree, I have 51.  51 different French ancestors took ships to get here in the seventeenth century!

My arrival tree doesn’t look like this …

My hastily drawn arrival tree.  March 2013

My hastily drawn arrival tree. March 2013.

It looks like this …

Updated Arrival Tree (still hastily sketched.) March 2013.

Updated Arrival Tree (still hastily sketched.) March 2013.

And now I am fascinated by my ancestors sheer numbers, and I am curious to unlock their stories.  This is what I know so far …

Angele Houde dit Desrochers paternal and maternal lines descend from the same immigrant ancestor, Louis, born 1617 — but are traced through separate sons.  The paternal side descends from Louis, born 1675; the maternal side descends from Simon, born 1680.

There is more of this duplicitous poetry in my enlarged tree (which is really Louis Hubert Boisvert’s enlarged family tree) – it begins (paternal paternal) and ends (maternal maternal) on the same three immigrants: Etienne Boisvert, Thomas Hayot, and Jeanne Boucher.

Indeed, 10 of my ancestors show up more than once in this arrival tree.  Plus there are two sets of siblings.  I guess these duplications will save me some research time down the road.

And I should probably mention that I took a short cut to find all this information so quickly.  In my original arrival trees, there are several branches that ended in unknown — but the only one that I hadn’t really looked into yet was the line for Louis Hubert Boisvert’s mother.  I started with his parents’ marriage certificate as a source for his maternal grandparents’ names (there are a lot of Houdes out there to sort through) and then entered them into the search engine at the highly respected, and PRDH verified, Genealogy of Canada.

Detail of Antoine Boisvert and Angele Houde dit Desrochers marriage record.  Drouin Collection, accessed April 13, 2013.

Detail of Antoine Boisvert and Angele Houde dit Desrochers marriage record. Drouin Collection, accessed April 13, 2013.

Amongst my new ancestors is Helene Desportes, reputed to be the first French child born in Canada (1620.)  I also have a couple of less famous ties that intrigue me because they intersect with stories that I am familiar with through my research into my Boisvert line and Sillery, Quebec: I am a descendent of one of Pierre Pinel’s victims and a descendent of neither his (nor Gilles’) sister, Marie Pinet, too.

There is still a lot of mystery here.  One thing I do know is that my arrival tree looks even more top heavy than it did before.  And I am shocked.  Shocked that 51 ancestors made the trip here in the seventeenth century.   I would have been terrified to spend that much time at sea.

***

MY SEVENTEENTH CENTURY FRENCH IMMIGRANT ANCESTORS 

Antoine Boisvert’s Ancestors

Etienne Boisvert by 1650

Thomas Hayot about 1636

Jeanne Boucher about 1636

Michel Lemay about 1655

Marie-Michelle Dutost about 1655

Pierre Pichet about 1655

Catherine Durand about 1665

Nicolas Silvestre about 1660

Jean Nepveu about 1650

Anne Leodet about 1653

Mathieu Choret about 1645

Sebastienne Veillon about 1647

Marguerite Lerouge about 1680

Total: 13

Angele Houde-Desrocher’s Paternal Ancestors

Louis Houde by 1658

Marin Boucher by 1636

Perrine Mallet by 1636

Gervais Bisson by 1654

Marie L’Hereux by 1654

Mathurin Trut by 1658

Pierre Garemon by 1631

Madeleine Charlot by 1631

Jean Demers about 1643

Jeanne Voidy about 1653

Jean Lavoie by 1684

Michel L’Homme by 1658

Marie Barbe Valade by 1658

Andre Bergeron by 1673

Jean Demers (repeat)

Jeanne Voidy (repeat)

Pierre Grenon by 1676

Marie Lavoie (sister of Jean Lavoie) by 1676

Jean Huard by 1662

Mathieu Amiot about 1635

Marie Milville by 1650

Guillaume Jourdain by 1678

Guillaume Constantin by 1661

Pierre Masse by 1644

Marie Pinet by 1644

Total: 25 (minus duplicates, 23)

Angele Houde-Desrocher’s Maternal Ancestors

Louis Houde (repeat)

Marin Boucher (repeat)

Perrine Mallet (repeat)

Francoise Frechet by 1677

Simon L’Herault by by 1655

Suzanne Jarousell by 1655

Gervais Bisson (repeat)

Marie L’Herault (repeat)

Marin Boucher (repeat)

Perrine Mallet (repeat)

Jean Beaudet 1664

Marie Grandin by 1670

Francois Garnier Pellerin by 1662

Jaqueline Fresson by 1662

Francois Garnier dit Pellerin by 1662

Jacqueline Fresion by 1662

Jean Hamel by 1666

Nicolas Gaudry by 1653

Noel Marin by 1640

Pierre Desportes by 1620

Francoise Langlois by 1620

Jacques Gauthier by 1672

Etienne Boisvert (repeat)

Thomas Hayot (repeat)

Jeanne Boucher (repeat)

Total: 25 (minus duplicates, 15)

Tagged , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Updated Arrival Tree

  1. Our ancestors were very brave to make this journey! On my paternal line, I see we have 8 common ancestors: Mathieu Choret, Sebastienne Veillon, Marin Boucher, Perrine Mallet, Pierre Gareman, Madeleine Charlot, Michel L’Homme and Marie Valade. I’ve blogged about some of them at As Canadian as Can Be http://hoguegirardin.wordpress.com/

    • 8 ancestors in common. Cool! I love how the family tree gives me not just 51 French immigrants, it gives me so many unknown cousins too. I will check your blog out soon. Thanks for leaving a note.

  2. Wow! 51 – so many. You are several research years ahead of where I am on my French Quebec ancestors. It was only a year ago that I was able to find the record that got me to Quebec. When I read your posts like this I get excited for the research adventure that is awaiting me. For now, I am happy to keep working where I am but I get really curious about what brought them to Quebec and when. Your arrival tree is pretty awesome – even if it is hastily sketched. I kind of think those are the best ones.

    • Thanks so much for your support. I love what you are doing on your blog — I sometimes feel like I am overlooking my immediate ancestors for strangers and will have to shift the balance at some point. When you are ready to look into your Quebec relatives you will see what a blessing it is to have relatives in Quebec, genealogically speaking. There are great resources to use: Tanguay and Jette’s genealogical dictionaries, the Drouin collection, the PRDH. You have some fun ahead of you! And the research might be quicker than you think. So many people have gone before us. :)

      • I use the Drouin collection a lot. I’m hanging out mostly in the late 1700s and early 1800s right now. I tend to go back one generation and then trace all of the kids forward then I go back another generation and forward again. It looks slow when someone looks at my pedigree but I learn so much more about the collections this way. And, my ‘French’ is improving quite a bit by doing this. I’ll have to look into the other resources you mentioned. Thank you, and thank you for the nice compliment!

  3. Sue goodman says:

    We are cousins umpteen times over since I am descended from or related to just about everyone on your list of 17th century ancestors. It would be nice to figure out the relationship. My maternal grandfather was the ancestor who immigrated to the US from Quebec.

    • Thanks for writing! Having 17th century Canadian ancestors has changed the meaning of extended family for me! My US immigrant ancestors were my maternal great great grandfather Eduoard Boisvert and his mother Euphemie Leborgne. Our quickest way to find a common ancestor might by figuring out our Boisvert connection. What was the name of your US immigrant ancestor? I bet we are pretty complicated cousins. :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

